h1

The Joy’s of Having Children !!!!

July 6, 2008

    Well basically this is just going to be one of those quick little blog’s so that I can have a bit of a moan….Sorry in advance.

    First of all Wednesday, Alyssa, Caitlin and myself went on our usual play date to Yvette’shouse, where the kids usually have a ball with Isaac, when they are not all trying to tell each other what to do!!! I got an schedule alarm on my cell phone at 10.45am, reminding me that I had a doctors appointment at 11.15am. Which me being me, had forgotten all about. Which is why I put all of my appointments into my phone.

    Yvette being the lovely lady that she is offered to watch the girls while I popped out to the doctor, which was fantastic, and then I remembered that my son finished school at 1pm that day, due to school interviews. So, I went to my appointment, went and picked up some bit’s and pieces for some lunch at Yvette’s house, and then went and picked up my boy from school and then back to Yvette’s.

    Went we got back there, little Caitlin was laying on the floor not doing much at all. She felt quite warm and I thought, “here we go”.

    We went home and I just kept an eye on my girl. She decided that it was time that she should give up on the food for now, and just concentrate on doing absolutely nothing at all apart from sleep, or just lay there with no interest in anything, except me.

    In the morning things took a turn for the worse. Her temperature was up, measured at 39.2C, so thought that it was time to take her to the good ol’ doctor herself. Temp was still up when we were there, and she was still as limp as old lettuce. G.P was not impressed so sent us up to the hospital.

    My hubby is at work and can not come home due to being short staffed. Alyssa, Caitlin’s twin was really SH***Y due to minimal sleep and having a chest infection of her own (currently on antibiotics for that). It was 1pm, so Aidan would have to be picked up from school in a couple of hours, and we all know what the waiting is like in the hospitals. What the hell was I going to do????

    That’s when my good friend Yvette came to the rescue again. I quickly rung her, telling her what was going on, dropped Alyssa off at her house, who was asleep by the time we got there, and then she organised her sister, Antoinette (as her sons go to the same school as mine) to pick Aidan up and take him to Yvette’s house as well.

    In the mean time, poor Caitlin had blood taken, prodded and poked. Still very lethargic, interested only in doing nothing. X-ray’s done of her chest and her abdomen. Admitted into the children’s ward where we stayed the night, under the assumption that she could possibly have appendicitis or a blocked bowel. Of course not drinking, she was not weeing, so they had to insert a catheter in, to drain off some urine just to ensure that it was not a urine infection, which they did about 3am as that was when the doctor was available to do it. By this stage she was on Intravenous fluids to help maintain her hydration, and she was Nil By Mouth, in case she had to go into surgery.

    Then the sun came up, with very minimal amount of sleep by either of us, as the IV machine went off every hour, nurses coming in to check her temperature regularly, which was still nicely sitting around 39C, all of the results were back which showed in her blood that yes she did have an infection some where, but they did not know where. So with clear x-rays, urine, and most of her bloods, they sent us home calling it the word I hate, a VIRUS.

    She was still very lethargic, but we went home, and were luckily enough to get a decent amount of sleep, and when the sun rose on Saturday, she was looking a bit brighter and started to eat, drink, and be on the mend again.

    While that was going on, Aidan came to me and said “Mum, I have a sore on my head”. Sure enough I had a look, and what I could see was a small red bump, and a bit tender to touch. Ok I said, we will keep an eye on that. Today, which is Sunday, he is still complaining about the bump on his head, so I have another look, and it is now pussy and very tender, and so I searched his body and found that yes a few more spots have shown up. Instantly I think, chickenpox. I say to my hubby, well, I am off to the doctor again to take Aidan, and low and behold the diagnoses came back CHICKENPOX. Just waiting for the twins to get it now, and then our school holidays will be complete, of basically being housebound, as no one will want us to visit. Joy oh joy oh joy.

    I have finished now. Goodnight.

7 comments

  1. Big hugs Adele – what a rough time for you all. I’m glad Caitlin is doing better.

    Kris


  2. Oh dear, this must have been really scary for you. Thinking of you and hope that everyone is better very quickly.


  3. Big big Hugs! But now I have a question, what is the incubation period for chicken pox? Isaac hasn’t had them and we are off to you know where.


  4. Hope this wee blog comment finds you all well Adele. Keep smiling your beautiful smile and all will be fine.
    huggles


  5. oh no – moan away – it sucks when ALL the children get sick at once… we have had heaps of different illnesses in our Kindergarten recently and some families have had them all!!!! This time of year – all run down – blah!!!!! As for the chicken pox I got them at 19 when at teacher’s college… all i can say is Pine-tar-sal – in the bath – it is so good and can be used to wash hair as well, and the other one is Alpha keri lotion – soothes the itches and doesn’t dry them out 9and then scab as badly) as the calamine lotion did…well that’s what worked for me (and ps they are so itchy!!!! so your boy will want to itch them…. I used to carry a warm flannel with me and laid this on my skin to stop the cravings to scratch) all the best Mum hang in there


  6. oh yeah forgot to say Yvette the incubation period is 2 weeks (before the spots appear) a hard one to dodge


  7. Oh no what a lot of illness you’re having! Castor oil is good for the spots



Leave a comment